Turning great ideas into healthier communities

Announcements

ADA National Network Learning Session: Working with Disability Partners in FEMA Long-Term Recovery Programs

November 02, 2016 | This announcement first appeared in an alert from PHI's Pacific ADA Center.

This webinar is hosted by PHI's Pacific ADA Center as part of the ADA National Network/FEMA Webinar Series, Emergency Management and Preparedness-Inclusion of Persons with Disabilities.

FEMA Disability Integration Advisors work closely with disability partners to ensure they are embedded into all areas of recovery. Disability partners play a crucial role in the long-term recovery of any community.

FEMA Office of Disability Integration and Coordination (ODIC) staff will discuss the coordination efforts with local disability partners in recent disasters. Learn what happens after a large-scale disaster occurs and the FEMA ODIC goes out to assist in the long-term recovery of the local community.

FEMA Promising Practices: Working with Disability Partners in FEMA Long-Term Recovery Programs
November 10: 2.30pm ET/1.30pm CT/12.30 pm MT/11.30am PT/9.30am Hawaii
Register.

Learning objectives:

  • Understand what the roles are of FEMA Disability Integration Advisors vs. disability partners in long-term recovery programs.
  • Learn how FEMA worked with disability partners in West Virginia and Louisiana for inclusion into long-term recovery programs. 
  • Identify the lessons learned in West Virginia and Louisiana.

Presenters:

  • Staff from FEMA ODIC and local disability partners

These 90 minute webinars are delivered using the Blackboard Collaborate webinar platform. Collaborate downloads files to your machine in order to run. We recommend that you prepare your technology prior to the start of the session. You may need the assistance of your IT Staff if firewalls prevent you from downloading files.

To view all of the sessions for the coming year, or to see previous sessions, go to http://www.adapresentations.org/schedule.php

The information presented in this webinar is intended solely as informal guidance, and is neither a determination of legal rights or responsibilities by NIDILRR or FEMA.