Turning great ideas into healthier communities

Announcements

ADA National Network Learning Session: A Frontline View of the Oroville Dam and Sonoma and Napa Wildfire Disasters (Webinar)

December 21, 2017

ADA National Network Learning Session:
A Frontline View of the Oroville Dam and Sonoma and Napa Wildfire Disasters

January 11th, 2018 (Registration closes at midnight, January 10th, 2018)
Webinars begin at 2.30pm ET/1.30pm CT/12.30 pm MT/11.30am PT/9.30am Hawaii.
Registration: Free on-line at http://www.adapresentations.org/registration.php

Two significant disasters have hit Northern California over the past year: the failure of the Oroville Dam, and the series of wildfires that hit Sonoma and Napa counties and reached into the city of Santa Rosa. Local Centers for Independent Living (CILs) were on the frontlines in the evacuation and sheltering efforts. This webinar will examine the experience of a local CIL in these disasters.

Learning objective: Understand how a CIL can participate in the community planning for a disaster, and how those plans match with reality

Presenter: Ana Acton lives in Nevada City, California, and is the Executive Director for FREED Center for Independent Living serving Nevada, Yuba, Sutter, Colusa, and Sierra counties. As a non-profit Independent Living Resource Center, FREED's goal is to empower people with disabilities to exercise their civil rights in becoming active, productive members of our community.


To view upcoming sessions, go to http://www.adapresentations.org/schedule.php

To see previous sessions, go to http://www.adapresentations.org/archive.php

The information presented in this webinar is intended solely as informal guidance, and is neither a determination of legal rights or responsibilities by NIDILRR or FEMA.