Turning great ideas into healthier communities

Announcements

Cancer and the Environment: Science and Opportunities for Prevention Webinar Series Features PHI's Barbara Cohn

February 05, 2020

Two-thirds of all cancer cases are linked to environmental causes. Barbara Cohn, director of PHI's Child Health and Development Studies, will be featured as a speaker on a February 19, 2020 webinar, hosted by the Collaborative on Health and the Environment. This is the first in a six-part webinar series on Cancer and the Environment: Science and Opportunities for Prevention. 

Multifactorial Origins of Cancer, Case Studies of Environmental Chemicals
and Cancer Risks, and a Systems Approach to Prevention

February 19, 2020 at 10am PDT / 1pm EDT / 6pm CET
Register here.

 
Featured Speakers:
  • Ted Schettler, MD, MPH, Science Director, Science and Environmental Health Network (SEHN)
  • Barbara Cohn, PhD, Director, Child Health and Development Studies and Senior Research Scientist, Public Health Institute, Oakland, California
  • Polly Hoppin, ScD, Research Professor, College of Health Sciences, and Program Director, Environmental Health Initiative, Lowell Center for Sustainable Production, University of Massachusetts, Lowell

about Child Health and Development Studies

Child Health and Development Studies (CHDS) investigates how health and disease are passed on between generations--not only genetically, but also through social, personal and environmental surroundings. Nearly 50 years ago, CHDS enrolled over 15,000 families during the mothers' early pregnancy. Families participated in comprehensive interviews about their health, lifestyle and experiences. Follow-up studies CHDS children, now adults, and on their children, enable CHDS scientists to study health across generations and seek ways to prevent disease early in life. Learn more.